Dev Bhoomi (Land of Gods) Uttarakhand Welcome to all for the Char Dham Yatra, as it is the land of great pilgrimages, sacred temples, and places that attract millions of pilgrims and spiritual seekers seeking enlightenment. The Char Dham pilgrimage sites located in the Garhwal region are considered the most sacred places in India: Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri, and Yamunotri.

These four ancient temples also mark the spiritual source of four sacred rivers as well:

Rivers Yamuna (Yamunotri), Ganga or Ganges (Gangotri), Mandakini (Kedarnath), and Alaknanda (Badrinath). 

Why Char Dhams

The Char Dhams are the famous four Hindu pilgrimage sites nestled among the lofty peaks of the Himalayas in Uttarakhand. The Char Dham circuit is a Hindu pilgrimage that includes four sites: Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, and Badrinath. All these locations are believed to be highly sacred to the Hindu religion. It is the ultimate desire of every Hindu to visit the holy shrines at least once in their lives to attain salvation (Moksha).

Why should one do a Sacred Pilgrimage Yatra?

According to Hinduism, the pilgrimage tirthayatra (Teerth Yatra) is one of the five duties of every Hindu, along with Dharma, worship, Sanskaras, and observing religious festivals. A pilgrimage is an exercise in willpower, humility, and faith when the devotee travels to often difficult locations, leaving his problems at the feet of the deity and forgetting everything but God.

A pilgrimage is an intimate experience, a direct connection between the seeker and the sacred. A devotee goes on pilgrimage to see holy men and women, to worship at holy shrines, and to have darshan of deities abiding in ancient sanctums. A pilgrim journeys to see God and have a life-changing, bliss-engendering, karma-eradicating contact with the Divine.

About Char Dham:


Yamunotri, the source of the Yamuna River and the seat of the goddess Yamuna, is one of the four sites in India’s Char Dham pilgrimage. The temple of Yamunotri falls on the left bank and was originally constructed by Maharaja Pratap Shah of Tehri Garhwal

Inside the temple, there is a statue of Goddess Yamuna imprinted in black stone that is mainly worshiped.


Gangotri, the source of the river Ganges and seat of the goddess Ganga The river is called Bhagirathi at the source and acquires the name Ganga from Devprayag onwards, where it meets the Aleksandra. The origin of the holy river is at Gaumukh, which is an 18-kilometer trek from Gangotri. Submerged in the holy river, here is the self-manifested Shivalinga.


Kedarnath is home to one of the holiest Hindu temples and is a popular destination for Hindu pilgrims and tourists from all over the world. Located in a scenic spot at the beginning of the Mandakani River, the shrine of Kedarnath is most revered among Hindu pilgrims.


Badrinath is considered the holiest of the four important shrines. The town is at an altitude of 3,133 m above sea level and situated on the left bank of the river Alaknanda, exactly between the two mountains Nara and Narayan. The shrine is dedicated to Vishnu, the preserver, and falls on the religious itinerary of every devout Hindu.

If You are looking for Char Dham Yatra this Year. Call Mount view Tour and Travel 80045 59100 for more details.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.